Abels International Moving

8.1
Out of 23 Sirelo reviews
78% of the users recommend this removal company
This removal company scores a 8.6 out of 28 reviews on other platforms.
pro
Professional
9
pro
Friendly
4
pro
Price
2
con
Communication
2
con
Careless with furniture
1

Request quote

Compare Abels International Moving with 4 other removal companies and save on your moving costs
Request a free quote
Compare with 4 others removal companies

About Abels International Moving

Abels Moving Services offers a comprehensive service covering all aspects of moving including UK Domestic Removals, European Moving, International Relocations, Office & Commercial Solutions. Purpose built Storage Facilities ensure goods remain safe & secure.

By Air, Sea or Road, with over 50 years in business they have all the attributes to ensure a peace of mind service. They remain large enough to cope, yet small enough to care.

Holders of the Queens Royal Warrant for Removals & Storage Services since 1989. FIDI-FAIM-Plus & BSI-9001-2008 quality accreditations. British Association of Movers Overseas Group members. Providing our customers with the IMMI insurance guarantee.

Wimbledon Avenue
IP27 0NZ Brandon

Services

International removals
National moving
Excess baggage

Associations

Abels International Moving is accredited by the following associations:

Type of Removal Company

Unknown
8.1
Out of 23 Sirelo reviews
78% of the users recommend this removal company
This removal company scores a 8.6 out of 28 reviews on other platforms.
Write a review
Review
Type of move
23 out of 23 reviews shown
I did the terrible mistake of hiring them to move from UK to Spain. Their service has been horrible. Actually I ended up paying 1500 pounds for having my furniture removed from my house and have them as hostage in their warehouse in Suffolk. This 1500 have been for nothing as I had to hire another company do the actual moving to Spain. I was basically stolen 1500 pounds.
con
Communication
con
Price
Moved from London (United Kingdom) to Sevilla (Spain)
flag-review
Response of
Dear Dr Noriega,

I am sorry that you are not happy with the service provided by Abels.

We advised of the changes following the UK's departure from the European Union (as any move to Spain now has customs procedures that apply) on the 18th February, 1st and 2nd March which was all prior to your service with Abels. On the 1st March you replied that you might have a problem with supplying the documents required as you had only been in Seville for one week. Your goods have remained safely in our warehouse for this period. We advised an alternative option for your delivery to Spain which was on the understanding that you would be required to pay customs duties, which you refused to pay.

You advised that you wish to use another company and collect your items from our warehouse to complete the move for you. The charges you are paying are for; the collection of your items on the weekend, storage while in our warehouse, store handling and VAT (as the service has all been within the UK then 20% VAT has had to be applied where as the full move to Spain would not have attracted VAT on your invoice).

My apologies once again.

Kind Regards
Neil Pertoldi
Over the years I had numerous removals with different companies and VERY varied experiences.
[Name removed by Sirelo] have provided me with the most amazing service exceeding all my expectations.
The whole team from office to collection and delivery teams have been really transparent, attentive, professional and courteous (what is much appreciated). The pricing was also very sensible but to be honest this was the least of our worries. The goods were collected and delivered at the agreed time and they did not lose anything or cause any unexpected damage.
I will certainly keep their details on file for future use and recommend them to anyone who does not want to chance a bad experience.
pro
Professional
pro
Timely and careful
Moved from Viana De Cega (Spain) to Saxmundham (United Kingdom)
flag-review
If you moving from one country to another please don't use them or be very careful. I made a mistake not google them which is one of my rule when engaging with company like this and this is a warning for other people. For international moving, your moving is done in 2 stages. They will first move your items into their warehouse and if the list you gave is not identical with the items they pickup or they will miss classify item on list, be ready to get nasty additional bill. If you don't pay additional changes, your items will not be delivered and the warehouse cost will be added, is like holding your items as hostage.

Their business of operation is very simple they are not interested in keeping customer because how many time will someone move in their life time. They know this very well and treat customer very badly.
pro
The guys that picked up and delivered were nice and helpful
con
They hold your items hostage
con
Admin office terrible
Moved from Maastricht (The Netherlands) to Crawley (United Kingdom)
flag-review
Response of
Dear O.,

I am sorry that you are unhappy.

We provided a quotation for an economy service for an agreed volume as a part load move in conjunction with other customers in a shared truck. This was based on a small and specific list that you had provided to us. The volume was calculated from your list for the space this would take up on the truck. During collection we were asked to load extra items- 1 x suitcase, 3 x crates, Ironing board, Holdall bag, Metal rack, Wooden rack, Steps, Toaster, Cushions, Large Sofa (less a washing machine that was not loaded). We have only charged for the extra items that have been moved for the time this has taken and the space occupied.

I am sorry once again for any confusion or misunderstanding. Please email [email protected] if you want to discuss this further or call me on 01842 816600.

Kind regards
Neil Pertoldi
They did a good job. They navigated tight parking, stairs, and wet weather. Both ends of the move were handled by pleasant, hard working team members.
Moved from London (United Kingdom) to Oosteeklo (Belgium)
flag-review
The company was in time for both removal and delivery. Communication via email was very good and we managed to organise the entire moving via emails. This is very helpful as both my husband and I have fulltime jobs and for us is sometimes difficult to be available for phone.
The company brought everything up to the 4th floor and inside the flat.
Moved from Cambridge (United Kingdom) to Tübingen (Germany)
flag-review
I contracted to move my belongings from the USA to Britain. I contacted and contracted with Abel's moving, having read they were good. This is not so as I will now list why!
Understandably they don't move in the USA so they contracted out to a US company, I don't know who it was. The company came with the truck on the May 3rd and loaded my belongings. I had originally said I had about 200 cubic feet of items. I later did the maths and came up with 295 cubic feet. Several days later I was notified by Abel's that the US movers claimed I had 386 cubic feet and I now owed them another $2000. What was I to do, they had my items and I had to pay.
I was told by Abel's that it would take up to 6 weeks to get my stuff delivered in England once it shipped. I had to wait for a authorization number from UK Customs service for the items to be unloaded in the UK but that doesn't mean it couldn't have been shipped before that arrived. I was then let know by Abels that the US company was going to start charging me storage if I did provide the customs number. I have no control over UK customs so why get nasty? I asked why the stuff hadn't shipped yet and they gave me some lame excuse. My belongings shipped in the 2nd week of June.
Then in the first week of July I'm notified by Abel's that they were contacted by the US movers informing of an error on their part. My belongings had been shipped to Hawaii instead. After much complaining about this mistake, Abel's got the US company to cough up all of $400 US dollars. It is now August and I'm living in the UK out of 2 suitcases. This money was to buy some clothes with, big whoop! What about some compensation for this massive error? Abel's did not go to bat for my cause and said I was lucky I got anything at all.
When my load arrived in the UK at my place of storage. I find that there were two custom built wooden crates with all my stuff in them. Mind you the one crate was only 2/3 full. I did the measurements and calculated the volume they would have held and amazingly it came out to 386 cubic feet. My belongings only took up 295 cubic feet of that space, this included several boxes they had put in to fill up holes in the packing area. I complained to Abel's and they then tell me that USA carriers ship by overall weight and this was what the figures were actually based on. Hmmmm! seems no one informed me of this and when I complained, it didn't make any difference. The one wooden box had most of the top ripped off and junk, i.e, wood bits and packing all over my load. I complained about this to no avail.
All in all, Abel's doesn't even handle what is shipped, nor to they see it and above all, they don't care. They nor their foreign company representatives have no accountability and they can talk their way out of the mistakes they make like shoddy care salesman. As has been my previous experience with supposed professional movers, I'd never use them again. If possible, I'd rent a boat and truck and do the moving myself (not that I could in this case).
pro
Good advertisement
pro
Friendly on the phone
con
Don't fight for their people being served
con
Don't seem to care in the end
Moved from Tucson (United States) to Truro (United Kingdom)
flag-review
Response of
Dear Dahlia,

We understand and share your disappointment with the error in your shipment going to the incorrect country.

The level of compensation made by our US partner was to compensate you, whilst you waited for your goods to be shipped to the original destination.

At the time your items were collected in the USA you had not applied with HMRC for your goods to enter the UK without taxes and duties. Abels duty of care was to ensure you did not receive taxes and duties from HMRC as a result of your not applying for a TOR.

Declaring all your goods when moving is important as you shipped a greater volume than you indicated you needed to have shipped. This increased your move cost from the quotation you accepted which showed the volume you planned to move.

We once again acknowledge your feedback, which Abels has discussed with you over the last few weeks.

Regards
Abels Moving Services
They gave us an excellent service. [names removed by Sirelo] were always very helpful and kind. The movers were very professional, precise in their handling of all our belongings. Everything arrived in perfect condition, and the move went very smoothly. I was also impressed by the way they covered the floors of the house we were leaving, and how clean it was when we left. I highly recommend Abels International Moving.
pro
Kind, courteous, and professional people
pro
Everything arrived in perfect condition
Moved from Cambridge (United Kingdom) to Padua (Italy)
flag-review
The experience has been disappointing throughout the move. The main problem was terrible communication and no customer service.
pro
The guys that picked up and delivered were nice and helpful
con
Admin office communication is terrible
con
Admin office not helpful
Moved from London (United Kingdom) to Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
flag-review
Professional company from A to Z - very pleased with their service, staff, support & professionalism.
pro
Great Service
pro
Great People
Moved from Dunmow (United Kingdom) to Lipa City (Philippines)
flag-review
Actual move perfect can not thank [name removed by Sirelo] enough ! Staff excellent friendly professional 5 star service
pro
Very personable
pro
Excellent service
Moved from Chester (United Kingdom) to Wexford (Ireland)
flag-review
Extrem dienstleistungsorientiert, man wusste jederzeit, woran man war. Mails wurden beinahe innert Minuten beantwortet.
Moved from Hatfield (United Kingdom) to Freienbach (Switzerland)
flag-review
very stressful time of my life helped by the calm friendly employees.
office staff could not have been more helpful and the removal men were cheerful and charming!
excellent service and all my belongings arrived safely.
pro
professional
Moved from Twickenham (United Kingdom) to Loughrea (Ireland)
flag-review
Absolutely excellent in every way !! Can not praise this company staff enough !! They could not do more than they did to make my move as stress free as they did ..very polite helpful team went out of their way to help me,thank you ..would highly recommend Abels moving company
pro
Very professional and helpful
pro
Caring polite andhard working
con
Nothing negative
con
Nothing negative
Moved from Ripley (United Kingdom) to North Walsham (United Kingdom)
flag-review
Todo el personal de Abels fue muy servicial y atento durante todo el proceso, contestaron a todas mis preguntas con rapidez, resolviendo todas mis dudas. La comunicación fue excelente, fueron muy flexibles en cuanto al pago y todas mis cosas llegaron en perfecto estado.
pro
Profesionalidad
pro
Trato cercano
Moved from Londres (United Kingdom) to Pobla De Vallbona (Spain)
flag-review
Excellent communication.
Excellent service.
Excellent advice.
Very helpful and efficient.
pro
See my 5 star rating and comments.
pro
Their quote very competitive.
Moved from London (United Kingdom) to Zurich (Switzerland)
flag-review
Very professional, helpful, polite, honest company
Moved from Zell (Germany) to Ashford (United Kingdom)
flag-review
It has literally been perfect from the start to the end. Highly professional.
pro
Professionalism
pro
Care and quality of service
Moved from Slough (United Kingdom) to Porto (Portugal)
flag-review
They tried to charge us more than the agreed quote halfway through the delivery, and wanted a credit card payment as they claimed that they had not calculated the volume correctly. When I said no, they backed down, but was a very sly move.
A glass table broke on route, which wasn't correctly packed as per the instructions on the sheet and when we ask them why it wasn't packed correctly, they told us they never got any instructions on which items to pack properly
pro
friendly
pro
nice staff
con
not taking care of our stuff
con
trying to overcharge
Moved from London (United Kingdom) to Berlin (Germany)
flag-review
Very friendly and service minded moving staff - great job
pro
Service
pro
Total offer
Moved from Haywards Heath (United Kingdom) to Ski (Norway)
flag-review
velocissimi e chiari nella comunicazione, sempre professionali e accomodanti, ho ottenuto un servizio impeccabile!
pro
prezzo competitivo
pro
tutti molto professionali
con
tempi lunghi per il trasporto in groupage
Moved from Londra (United Kingdom) to Revello (Italy)
flag-review
zuverlässig, sauber, pünktlich
pro
nur Vorteile
Moved from Cambridge (United Kingdom) to Muttenz (Switzerland)
flag-review
Un poco complicado, llegaron antes d lo previsto
Moved from Londres (United Kingdom) to Reus (Spain)
flag-review
Vriendelijke en snelle service, flexibel en goede prijs

English:
Friendly and fast service, flexible and a good price
pro
Flexible
Moved from London (United Kingdom) to Nijmegen (The Netherlands)
flag-review

Other reviews

Google
8.6
28 reviews

Questions or improvements?

Do you see incorrect information on this page? Please help us to improve this page by providing us with the right information for everyone who is visiting this website after you!
Give your feedback

Other removal companies in Brandon